The Ninth Judicial Circuit Historical Society
Shopping cart is empty.

A Court Transformed:The Ninth Circuit, the 1978 Judgeship Act, and the Carter Judges February 17, 2018

The California Academy of Appellate Lawyers, the Appellate Courts Section of the LA County Bar Association, the Department of Political Science of Loyola Marymount University, and the Ninth Judicial Circuit Historical Society are pleased to announce a Conference to mark the 40th anniversary of the Omnibus Judgeship Act of 1978. 

The Omnibus Judgeship Act of 1978 transformed the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals by creating ten new judgeships for the Court. President Carter filled all these new spots, along with five other judicial vacancies.The Act also authorized the Ninth Circuit to create its unique “limited en banc court” of fewer than all active judges. 

Come hear:

Hon. J. Clifford Wallace,
Hon. Mary M. Schroeder,
Hon. Dorothy W. Nelson,
Hon. William C. Canby, Jr.,
Hon. Stephen Reinhardt,
Hon. A. Wallace Tashima,
Hon. Kim McLane Wardlaw,
and Hon. Milan D. Smith, Jr.

present their insights in conversation with principal moderator Professor Arthur D. Hellman of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. The Judges will share both their recollections and their contemporary perspectives on what the impact of the Judgeship Act has been on the Ninth Circuit, both in the immediate aftermath and in the longer term.  

DATE: Saturday, February 17, 2018. 

TIME: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM. (two morning sessions, a luncheon with the Judges, and two afternoon sessions -- Come to the whole day or just the sessions that work for your schedule!)

LOCATION: Richard Chambers Courthouse, 125 So. Grand Ave., Pasadena, California.(Free parking is available across the street).

MCLE CREDIT: 6 hours of California MCLE Credit and 6 hours of credit for California Legal Specialization in Appellate Law.

There is no fee for the conference, but RSVPs are requested. Space is LIMITED SO PLEASE RSVP BY February 9, 2018 to Please indicate whether you will be attending for CLE credit.



Copyright ©2017, The Ninth Judicial Circuit Historical Society. All rights reserved. Sitemap

Join our email announcement list